Elements of ancient astrology

Astrology uses the concept of classical elements—namely fire, earth, air, and water.

All cultures have used this division starting from the Vedas. Chinese astrology uses a different system of five elements in total.

Interesting facts:

Fire signs: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. The energy of fire is an active, positive, creative power that promotes changes.

Earth signs: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. The energy of earth represents negative forces of a stabilizing, empowering, and structuring nature.

Air signs: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. The energy of air represents positive energies of expansion, information, knowledge, and connection.

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. The energy of water represents negative energies of inclusiveness, adaptivity, identification, and the emotional and spiritual nature.

Each element has three modalities: cardinal, fixed, and mutable.

Cardinal signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn. They are bold and determined.

Fixed signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius. They are stubborn. 

Mutable signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces. They keep changing their mind all the time.

Back to Glossary